Orlando Travels · Walt Disney World

Top Five: Animal Kingdom

Hey everyone! This is part two of my Top Five Series. As mentioned in my last post, there are different categories and for each category, I will give you my top five picks and why I considered them to be in the top five. What are your favorite things to do at Animal Kingdom? I would love to know!

Rides/Attractions:

  1. Kilimanjaro Safaris– I love animals. So there is no surprise why I would pick this ride as a top five. If I made this top five based on order, this would definitely be number one. I like how you can learn new and interesting facts about the wild animals you see on the safari. Recommend: Ride at sunset.
  2. Dinosaur– This is another ride that I could repeat absolutely everything they say (The other ride was Haunted Mansion). I have ridden this ride so many times and it is still a favorite. You know what you should do next time you ride it? Don’t hold on to the bars. Let the sharp turns and bumps move you (much more of a thrill that way if I do say so myself).
  3. Expedition Everest– This is a fun thrill ride. I love the queue area. They put so much intricate detail into it. Fun Fact: You must be at least one “Yeti Foot” to ride. Next time you are about to go in line, look at the where they measure the height of the riders, you’ll see what I mean about the Yeti foot.
  4. Kali River Rapids– Kali River Rapids is the best way to cool off from the heat. Most of the time you can get out of the ride totally drenched or partially wet. The funny thing is that sometimes, you could come out of the ride completely dry. No joke! It’s so odd how that happens! Fun Fact: Disney likes to use different scents in order to match to its surroundings. So in the beginning of the ride, breathe in the scents of jasmine and ginger as you go up the ramp. Another Fun Fact: Make sure to look at the rock formation near the first waterfall as you go up. You can spot a hidden tiger (:
  5. It’s Tough to be a Bug– Before I even talk about this show, you have to experience the queue of this ride at least once. The Tree of Life is Animal Kingdom’s icon. This immense structure has over 300 animal carvings on the tree. The queue for It’s Tough to be a Bug takes you up close and personal to the Tree of Life. The best part of it all is that the attraction is inside the tree! Pretty cool huh? Fun Fact: I used to be terrified of this ride when I was younger. The spider part always got to me. I enjoy this ride now. It is entertaining and it’s to sit down and escape from the heat.

Restaurants/Food Locations:

  1. Yak and Yeti– This is my favorite table service restaurant. They are really accommodating with someone who has food allergies. The chef comes out to make sure that everything is alright. The food is delicious. I recommend checking this restaurant out.
  2. Tusker House– Breakfast and lunch include characters. This is a buffet style restaurant and you can get a cool character experience out of it.
  3. Thirsty River Bar and Trek Snacks– This place has a variety of snacks. They have alcoholic beverages here like wine, beer, and specialty drinks.
  4. Flame Tree Barbecue– The food is so yummy. This food location only has outdoor seating, but the views are gorgeous. Some tables offers a beautiful view of Expedition Everest across the Discovery River (Awesome photo opportunity).
  5. Eight Spoon Café– This food location has some yummy on the go snacks. They have snacks like pretzels and chips.27429831405_6b6cfecb83_n

Other:

  1. Finding Nemo- The Musical– Finding Nemo is one of my favorite Disney Movies. This show is a must see. The performers are talented. Singing along is a must.
  2. Festival of the Lion King– This is one of my favorite shows at Walt Disney World. The dancing is incredible the singing is beautiful. I recommend watching this show if you haven’t already. Tip: Get a fast pass for this show so you can get good seats. If you have a child, sitting in the front could help them get picked to be a part of the show.
  3. Pangani Forest Exploration Trail– You get to see animals like gorillas, hippos, meerkats, and exotic birds. Best section for me is the gorillas. They are always camera ready. Haha!
  4. Maharajah Jungle Trek– You can spot tigers, exotic birds, and even a komodo dragon!
  5. Tree of Life Awakenings– The Tree of Life comes to life at night as the animal spirits in the tree awaken. This show offers a new breathtaking view of the Tree of Life. Every ten minutes, you can see some of the animal spirits like a doe or a pair of hummingbirds.

Characters: I am going to list the characters I have had memorable experiences with and where you can meet them.

  1. DiVine– You can spot her in the pathway between Africa and Asia.
  2. King Louie and Baloo– Upcountry Landing (Asia)
  3. Pocahontas– Character Landing (Discovery Island)
  4. Tarzan– Discovery Island Trail
  5. Russel and Dug– Discovery Island

 

One thought on “Top Five: Animal Kingdom

Leave a Reply

