Orlando Travels

Epcot’s Food and Wine Festival 2016

Food and Wine Festival

Hey everyone! Although Epcot’s Food and Wine Festival is soon coming to an end (November 14th), I am going to give a little bit of information about the festival and talk to you about what I have tried at the festival.

What is the Food and Wine Festival?

This is a special annual event that they have at the World Showcase in Epcot. They have over 30 showcase booths around the World Showcase pavilion with great food, dessert, and drink options from different countries from around the world. There are special events, seminars, and special guest appearances at the festival as well. I am not going to go into too much detail of everything that the Food and Wine Festival has to offer, but I will give you a general idea of what the FWF is and some tips that I have come up with. One of my tips would be to do your research before going to the festival so that you can plan out all that you want to do before you get there. This would be very helpful if you decide to go on a peak day (Saturday and Sunday) so that you can try to do the things that interest you.

What is there to do at the Festival?

  • Eat and drink at different booths around the World Showcase
  • Eat to the Beat Concert Series- at certain hours of the night, there are several musical performances on the mainstage at the world showcase.
  • Culinary demonstrations (reservation required)
  • Beverage seminars and cheese seminars (reservation required)
  • Mixology, caking decorating, and pasta making (reservation required)
  • Eat with Culinary chefs for breakfast (reservation required)
  • Remy’s Hide and Squeak- this is an interactive game where you collect ingredients around the World Showcase for Remy’s signature dish, Ratatouille ($$). You can purchase the map and stickers and when you have finished, you can collect a surprise gift!

If you go do the Disney website, you could find information and how to making reservations for the food and wine festival. Here’s the link: https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/events-tours/epcot/epcot-international-food-and-wine-festival/

Tips: 

Tip #1: Go during the week day or a Friday. These days are usually non-peak days and there will be little lines.

Tip #2: Get the gift card for the festival. This is a way to not overspend. You set an amount that you want to spend so that you only spend what is on the gift card. Trust me, you will be saving a lot of money if you set a limit.

Tip #3: If you are usually indecisive, you can take a look at the menu online before you go. This will help you know what they have ahead of time and you can make an easier decision while you are there.

Tip #4: Do not be afraid to try new things! Those are usually the best! Get out of your comfort zone and say yes!

Here’s some of what I tried during the Food and Wine Festival:

Chicken Pot Stickers (China)

I love these. They were not anything out of the ordinary, but they were still yummy! I love chicken pot stickers so this hit the spot.

fwf-2

Berbere-style Beef Tenderloin Tips with Onions, Jalapeños, Tomato and Pap (Africa)

This was so good. It is really spicy though. If you are not a fan of spicy, stay away haha! I had to ask what pap was though. It is kind of like grits if you haven’t heard of it either. It was a yummy combination!

fwf-3

Hard Soda Floats with Vanilla Soft-Serve Alcoholic (Desserts and Champagne) 

I got the Spercher Hard Cherry Cola soda and this was a match made in heaven. I suggest trying these floats out. They were so delicious and was much needed on that very hot day.

fwf-5

Loaded Mac ‘n’ Cheese with Nueske’s® Pepper Bacon, Cheddar Cheese, Peppers and Green Onions (Farm Fresh)

This was my favorite food out of everything that I have tried at the festival. I love mac and cheese and this did it for me. Everything in this mac and cheese were delicious and I would have asked for another one haha (If I was not trying to save space for the other delicious food at the festival) Definitely recommend getting this.

fwf-1

Mezcal Pineapple Margarita on the Rocks (Mexico)

This was a good size drink. The taste was yummy and you cannot go wrong with a margarita!

fwf-6

Frozen Szarlotka Apple Pie featuring Zubrowka Bison Grass Vodka (Poland)

Out of everything I had, I definitely would want everyone to try this out. This was my absolute favorite drink. The bottom of the drink had apple pie filling and that was the best thing ever! I bought this drink because I saw so many Instagram pictures of it. The hype is real. Try this now!

fwf-4

Vegan Loaded Greek “Nachos”: Pita Chips, Meatless Sausage Crumbles, and Vegan Tzatziki (Greece)

I did not take a picture of this, but this was very good. Tasted like the real thing. Even though the term meatless sausage made me raise an eyebrow (I was skeptical if it really was going to taste like sausage), I decided to give it a shot and try it out! It taste just like sausage! So crazy!

Leave a comment below telling me your experience at the Food and Wine Festival. I want to know your favorite drinks and dishes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

